Peach Picking in Weston, MO

So I never shared these pictures we took this summer. I love taking pictures of my little men, but I can be really bad at sharing.  Hopefully, I will become better at documenting so I can lovingly look back at these pictures.

Last summer, Jude’s fruit of choice was the peach.  He ate fresh peaches almost every day and was the happiest little baby.  Now, in Oklahoma, Porter Peach farm has these delicious tree-ripened peaches that bleed their juices down your arm once you bite into them. They are SO good. I wanted him to experience something like that this year.

Weston, Missouri, outside of KC, is known for their picturesque and fruitful countryside. We drove the 40 minutes there from Olathe and went to Historic Weston Orchard and Vineyard .  The weather forecast was clear and sunny, but of course, it poured when we arrived.  Stormy days make perfect clouds and moody pictures.  And, with a baby strapped to my chest, I snapped a few (apparently exposure and angles are difficult for me to manage with a newborn on my chest, so these pics are VERY, VERY moody.) 🙂  We had a great time.  Isaac carried Jude on his shoulders and Grant snuggled up on my chest as we sifted through the mud and trees.

DSCF1844DSCF1807DSCF1810DSCF1817DSCF1833

DSCF1860DSCF1864

The rain also left mud, lots of it.  As we were leaving, Jude succeeded in finding the biggest mud puddle of them all.  In the short time we weren’t looking, he managed to cover his shoes in enough mud to where he couldn’t barely walk without tripping. Typical Jude.

DSCF1919-3

As sweet as one’s sweetest childhood memories, the peaches were delicious!  We ate our entire peck in three days and enjoyed every single bite. Jude was able to reach the best peaches on Isaac’s shoulders and we had extra clothes in the car for a muddy accident. All in all, fresh picked, tree-ripened peaches are wonderful.  We can’t wait to do it again next year!

DSCF1908DSCF1913-2

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.