Moving right along…

In the past seven weeks, as one can imagine, much has happened to us as a family of four. Grant was hospitalized for viral meningitis (cured by 36hrs inpatient, snuggles, and Tylenol), we bought tickets to Spain for May 2019, our A/C broke and we had the entire unit replaced, Grant was baptized, we dog-sat, (which made Jude one seriously happy toddler), visited our friend Keith and family in Wichita, and currently Jude is on a nap strike. With all this being said, the sweetest thing that has developed over this time is Jude and Grant’s relationship and Jude growing into his toddler self.

“Mom-ing” has been challenging lately (like I just-signed-up-for-a-wine-club challenging and when Isaac reads this he will be finding out for the first time.)  But seeing Grant and Jude together makes my heart full.  Jude asks–no begs– to hold Grant every morning after breakfast.  When he does, he tenderly says, in his highest voice possible, “Hi, Grant!”  It is very cute. And when Grant is crying, Jude will stop in his tracks and quickly exclaim, “BabySad!” as if its one word. Jude always wants to push Grant on our daily walks, but only about 50 feet before he asks to “seat” in the stroller too.  I love them so much and I cannot wait till they can play together!

Bittersweetly, my baby Jude is now my toddler Jude.  He is always talking, singing, and telling me things he learns. He knows all his letters, number, colors, most shapes, and even knows some letter sounds. He fills in the words to “You Are My Sunshine” and most other songs. If I say, “I love…,” he shouts, “Jude!” Our days are filled with giggles, tears, proud exclamations, and much love.  Although these past few weeks have been trying, the sweet smiles and love my boys share are definitely worth it!

 

One thought on “Moving right along…

  1. What a precious family you have!!! So glad Grant is fine. Motherhood is one of the best and rewarding jobs in the world!!!! Not that there are not challenges along the way but boys are wonderful!!! Can’t believe my oldest has a teaching job and getting ready to move in his own apartment!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.